During the holiday season, hundreds of stores throughout Colorado hire part-time workers. Many of those hired take these jobs to gain some extra cash, with the full understanding that their period of employment will be temporary.
But these workers must learn their job duties very quickly. Often, they are put out on the retail floor or in the stockroom with little or no training. And inexperienced or under-trained employees are more vulnerable to workplace injuries than full-time experienced workers.
Can an injured part-time retail worker get workers’ compensation benefits?
In all likelihood, the answer is yes. With some exceptions, Colorado requires all private and public employers with one or more full- or part-time employees to provide workers’ compensation coverage.
The Workers’ Compensation Act exempts these types of employees from the insurance requirement:
- Workers doing casual maintenance or repair work performed for a business for under $2,000 per year
- Workers doing domestic, maintenance or repair work for a private homeowner on a part-time basis
- Licensed real estate brokers working on commission
- Independent contractors with no employees
- Drivers working for a contract carrier
- People who volunteer services at a ski area operator
- Federal and railroad employees
What types of workers’ compensation benefits are available?
An injured part-time retail worker may be eligible to receive these types of workers’ compensation benefits:
- All reasonable and necessary medical expenses
- Partial wage replacement benefits for time lost from work
- Temporary partial disability benefits
- Temporary total disability benefits
- Permanent partial disability benefits
- Permanent total disability benefits
- In the event of death, funeral and burial benefits, plus wage replacement benefits for the deceased person’s dependents
The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment has published an informative guide for employees covering important aspects of the workers’ compensation system.
What to do if you have been injured
If you work less than 40 hours per week for pay in Colorado at a retail store, it’s likely that you are covered by workers’ compensation insurance. In the event of an on-the-job injury, you are eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. You should speak with an experienced attorney if you have questions about filing a claim or getting benefits.